Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

RAF Station Commanders - India and Far East

[Butterworth | Changi | Gan | Jodhpur | Kai Tak | Kallang | Kandahar | Kluang | Kota Bharu | Kuala Lumper | Kuantan | Mingaladon | P2 (Palembang) | Peshawar | Pegu | Salbani | Seletar | Sembawang | Tengah]

RAF Butterworth

xx xxx xxxx                           Wg Cdr ? Forbes


RAF Changi

xx xxx 1956                           Gp Capt K J McDonald

 8 Jan 1964                           Gp Capt B C Bennett

19 Jan 1967                           Gp Capt E W Merriman



xx xxx xxxx (1965)                Gp Capt M Scannell

xx xxx xxxx (1965)                Gp Capt Moss


RAF Jodhpur

xx xxx xxxx (1945)                Gp Capt J D Rutherford


RAF Kai Tak

22 Sep 1933                            Sqn Ldr C R Keary

29 Feb 1936                            Sqn Ldr/Wg Cdr W A K Dalzell

21 Mar 1938                           Gp Capt A H Peck

23 Dec 1938                           Gp Capt H M K Brown

xx xxx xxxx                              Gp Capt A S Mann (post 1959)


RAF Kallang

xx xxx 1941                           Wg Cdr R A Chignell

xx xxx 1942                           Wg Cdr G Bell


Kandahar Air Base

xx Jul 2007                            A/Cdre A D Stevenson

xx Feb 2008                           A/Cdre R W Judson

22 Sep 2008                         A/Cdre A D Fryer

16 Jul 2009                           A/Cdre M A B Brecht

xx May 2010                         A/Cdre G Moulds


RAF Kluang

xx xxx xxxx                           Wg Cdr ? Toogood


RAF Kota Bharu

xx xxx xxxx                           Wg Cdr ? Noble


RAF Kuala Lumper

xx xxx 1941                           Wg Cdr H S Darley

xx xxx 1948                           Wg Cdr H N G Wheeler

xx xxx xxxx                            Gp Capt K R C Slater


RAF Kuantan

xx xxx xxxx                           Wg Cdr ? Councell


RAF Mingaladon

xx xxx xxxx                          Gp Capt S Broughall

xx xxx xxxx                           Wg Cdr N C S Rutter


RAF Negombo

xx Aug 1956                           Gp Capt P O V Green



xx xxx 1941                           Gp Capt J P J McCauley


RAF Peshawar

xx xxx xxxx                            Gp Capt P H Cribb



xx xxx 1945                           Wg Cdr P G D Farr


RAF Salbani

xx xxx xxxx                            Gp Capt P H Cribb


RAF Seletar

This section covers all incarnations of the station, including RAF Base - Singapore, RAF Station - Singapore and RAF Maintenance Base - Seletar, but does not include its occupation by the Japanese

xx Jan 1930                  Gp Capt H M Cave-Browne-Cave

xx Oct 1930                 Gp Capt A H Jackson

xx Nov 1933                Gp Capt S W Smith

xx Dec 1933                 Gp Capt E J P Burling

xx Mar 1936                 Wg Cdr C L Scott

xx Nov 1936                 Gp Capt C R Cox

xx Oct 1939                  Gp Capt V Buxton

xx Apr 1940                  Gp Capt H M K Brown

Feb 1942 - Aug 1945    Station under Japanese occupation

xx Sep 1945                  Gp Capt G Francis

xx Jan 1946                   Gp Capt C E StJ Beamish

xx Apr 1946                  A/Cdre G H Vasse

xx Nov 1946                 A/Cdre G P H Carter

xx Mar 1949                 A/Cdre H J G E Proud

xx May 1951                A/Cdre W A Opie (AOC RAF Base Seletar, Jun 1951 - Mar 1952)

xx Jun 1951                  Gp Capt R F Shenton

xx Apr 1952                 Gp Capt H W Marlow

xx Nov 1952                Gp Capt R G Seymour

xx Nov 1954                Gp Capt T King

xx Feb 1956                 Gp Capt D D Rogers

xx Oct 1958                 Gp Capt F C Hopcroft

xx Oct 1959                 Gp Capt G McKenzie

xx Nov 1959                Gp Capt P A Hughes

xx Jan 1961                  Gp Capt R D Williams

xx Aug 1963                 Gp Capt R W G Freer

xx Apr 1966                 Gp Capt T W A Hutton

28 Mar 1969                Gp Capt A Maisner


RAF Sembawang

xx xxx 1940                   Gp Capt J P J McCauley

15 Jan 1948                   Wg Cdr R E G Van der Kiste

20 Aug 1948


RAF Tengah

5 Aug 1939                 Wg Cdr J McFarlane

10 Sep 1939               Gp Capt O C Bryson

16 Feb 1940                Wg Cdr W M C Kennedy

1 May 1940                Gp Capt F G Watts (shot himself on 4 Feb 1942)

26 Jan 1942                Gp Capt R A Ramsey-Rae

1942 - 1945                Japanese Occupation

22 Sep 1945                Gp Capt C P Marvin

10 June 1946               Wg Cdr R F Watts

3 Jan 1947                   Gp Capt R Sorel-Cameron

10 Jan 1948                 Wg Cdr R H McConnel

20 Feb 1948                Gp Capt B A Casey

24 Feb 1949                Gp Capt R Grice

15 Nov 1949               Wg Cdr D H Burnside

1 Apr 1950                  Gp Capt R C Dawkins

21 Aug 1951                Gp Capt F Headlam (RAAF)

14 Dec 1951                Gp Capt C M Champion de Crespigny

25 Apr 1954                Gp Capt D G Stokes

28 Jul 1955                  Gp Capt R T Frogley

24 Apr 1956                Gp Capt R J P Prichard

1 Dec 1958                  Gp Capt J E S Morton

1 Jun 1961                   Gp Capt T R B Pierce

12 May 1964               Gp Capt D E Hawkins  (Air Cdre wef 1 July 1966)

 3 Nov 1966                Gp Capt P J Lagesen

 4 Apr 1969                 Gp Capt P A Latham


Officers shown in Italics either never reached Air Rank or were not in the General Duties Branch when they did so

[Butterworth | Changi | Gan | Jodhpur | Kai Tak | Kallang | Kandahar | Kluang | Kota Bharu | Kuala Lumper | Kuantan | Mingaladon | P2 (Palembang) | Peshawar | Pegu | Salbani | Seletar | Sembawang | Tengah]

This page was last updated on 26/08/18

 [Top of Page]