Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Inland Area - May 1920

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Inland Area Medical HQ Uxbridge  
Wireless Station Uxbridge  
Central RAF Hospital Avenue House, Finchley N3 Sqn Ldr H W Scott BA
Medical Officers School of Instruction 22 Fitzjohn's Avenue, Hampstead NW3 Wg Cdr M W Flack CBE, MA, MB, BA
Barrack Store, Gosport Fort Rowner, Gosport  
Officers' Invaliding Board 9 Arkwright Road, Hampstead NW3  
RAF Depot: - Uxbridge Gp Capt John G Hearson CB, DSO; later A/Cdre
  1. Discharge Centre (administered by RAF Depot)
  2. School of Music (administered by RAF Depot)
  3. Central Band RAF (administered by RAF Depot)
  1. Uxbridge
  2. Uxbridge
  3. Uxbridge
Officers' Invaliding Medical Board Leamington  
Care & Maintenance Party Driffield  
Care & Maintenance Party Renfrew (borne on strength of No 8 Wing Mobile Disposal Sqn)  
Care & Maintenance Party Crail Flt Lt J M Burd MC
Care & Maintenance Party Montrose  

No 1 Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 24 Sqn (a) Kenley Sqn Ldr E H Johnston OBE
Armament and Gunnery School (Cadre) Eastchurch Wg Cdr L W G Res VC, OBE,, MC, AFC
No 1 Stores Depot: - Kidbrooke Wg Cdr M Spicer
  1. Armament Repair and Gun Testing Section
  2. Wireless Repair Section
  3. Photographic Repair Section
  4. Tool Repair Section
  5. MT Spares Repair Section
  6. Southern Area Hanger Party
  7. Port Detachment, No 1 Stores Depot
  1. Kidbrooke
  2. Kidbrooke
  3. Kidbrooke
  4. Kidbrooke
  5. Kidbrooke
  6. Kidbrooke
  7. Victoria Docks
Central Pay Office Woking Gp Capt R D S Stoney CBE
  1. Base Pay Office (France)
General Services Pay Office Trafalgar House, Great Newport Street, London WC2 Gp Capt H C Ellis CBE
Wireless Station Kenley  
Meteorological Station (c) Croydon  
Medical Stores Section Kidbrooke  
Wireless Station Kidbrooke  
Balloon Stores Depot Kingsnorth Sqn Ldr F C Williams OBE
No 6 Stores Depot: - Ascot Sqn Ldr Edye R Manning MC; later A/Cdre
No 6 Sub-Stores Depot

Bass' Yard, St Pancras

"Q" Stores Depot Feltham Flt Lt T L Stevens
Instrument Design Establishment (a) Biggin Hill Wg Cdr G P Grenfell DSO
School of Technical Training (Men) Manston Wg Cdr William H Primrose DFC; later A/Cdre
Storage Station Hawkinge Flt Lt W H E Kemp AFC
No 25 Sqn (Forming) Hawkinge  
Inland Area Aircraft Depot Henlow Wg Cdr A V Bettington CMG
No 3 Stores Depot Milton, Steventon Wg Cdr S A Hebden OBE
No 4 Stores Depot Ruislip  
Wireless Station Milton, Steventon  
No 39 Sqn (Cadre) Kenley  
Imperial War Museum (RAF Section) Catford, London, SE Obs Off A J Insall

No 3 Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Care & Maintenance Party Waddington (borne on the strength of No 3 FTS)  
No 207 Sqn (a) Bircham Newton Sqn Ldr Arthur W Tedder; later MRAF
Care & Maintenance Party Norwich Flt Lt P D Robertson
Care and Maintenance Party Station Road, Ely  
Aeroplane Experimental Establishment (Home) Martlesham Heath Sqn Ldr A Shekleton DSO
  1. Detachment
  1. Orfordness
Wireless Station Bircham Newton  
Care and Maintenance Party Longdale Road, Lincoln  
No 6 Flying Training School (Cadre) Spittlegate Sqn Ldr T V Lister
No 5 Flying Training School (Cadre) Shotwick Sqn Ldr L F Forbes
Care and Maintenance Party Ternhill (borne on the strength of MT Repair Depot, Shrewsbury)  
MT Repair Depot (including 3 MT Sections of No 1 ARD) (d) Shrewsbury Sqn Ldr R H Verney OBE

No 7 Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 1 (Southern) Aircraft Repair Depot South Farnborough  
School of Photography (d) South Farnborough Sqn Ldr P R Burchall
Experimental Section (RAE) South Farnborough Sqn Ldr Roderic M Hill KCB, MC, AFC; later ACM
Meteorological Station South Farnborough


No 4 Sqn (HQ plus 'A' & 'B' Flights) South Farnborough

Sqn Ldr Charles H B Blount MC; later AVM

No 7 Group Medical HQ Andover  
Wireless Station Flower Down  
No 1 Flying Training School Netheravon Wg Cdr Patrick H L Playfair MC; later AM
Wireless Station Bordon Camp  
School of Army Co-operation (a) Old Sarum Sqn Ldr Henry J F Hunter MC; later A/Cdre
  1. No 4 Sqn ('C' Flight)
  1. Old Sarum


Central Flying School Upavon Wg Cdr Norman D K MacEwen CMG, DSO; later AVM
Air Pilotage School Andover Sqn Ldr Wilfred A McClaughry DSO, MC, DFC; later AVM
Electrical and Wireless School Flower Down Wg Cdr James B Bowen;  later A/Cdre
School of Balloon Training Rollestone Camp Flt Lt E R Tempest MC, DFC
Meteorological Station Rollestone Camp


Meteorological Station Andover


Wireless Station Andover


Record Office Blanford Wg Cdr William F MacNeece DSO, DFC; later AVM Sir William MacN Foster


No 7 Wing

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Tadcaster Mobile Disposal Sqn Tadcaster Sqn Ldr V Gaskell-Blackburn
No 2 (Northern) Aircraft Repair Depot Coal Aston  
Care & Maintenance Party Sherburn-in-Elmet  
No 46 Training Sqn South Carlton  
Care & Maintenance Party Scampton Flt Lt B C H Cross DFC
No 14 (Castle Bromwich) Aircraft Acceptance Park (Cadre) (b) Monkmoor Shrewsbury Flt Lt J C M Hay
Care & Maintenance Party Whitley Abbey (borne on the strength of Coventry Storage Park)  
Care & Maintenance Party Alexander Park, Manchester (borne on the strength of No 5 FTS)  
Care & Maintenance Party Hooton Park (borne on the strength of No 5 FTS) Flt Lt Francis H Coleman; later A/Cdre

(a) Directly under The Air Ministry for operations.

(b) Directly under Area HQ for technical administration.

(c) Under The Air Ministry for all purposes.

(d) Under The Air Ministry for technical administration.

(e) Attached to nearest accounting unit for pay, rations, accommodation and discipline

(f) Control divided between Air Ministry and Area HQ.

Source - May 1920 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

[Top of Page]