Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Command - January 1941

[Command HQ | No 15 Group | No 16 Group | No 17 Group | No 18 Group | No 19 Group | No 200 Group]

Command HQ - Eastbury Park, Northwood, Middlesex

Units administered directly by Command HQ

Unit Location/Address Notes
No 1 Photographic Reconnaissance Unit (Lodger Unit) RAF Benson - Station in Bomber Command
Central Interpretation Unit Danesfield, near Marlow, Buckinghamshire for Administration only
No 417 Flight (Lodger Unit) RAF St Athan - Station in Technical Training Command

No 15 (Reconnaissance) Group

HQ - Plymouth (due to move to Liverpool)

Unit Location/Address Notes
RAF Station Aldergrove Aldergrove RAF Station, Home Forces Station in RAFNI
No 233 Sqn RAF Aldergrove Hudson
No 502 Sqn (less 1 Flight) RAF Aldergrove Whitley
No 272 Sqn RAF Aldergrove Blenheim
RAF Station Bowmore Isle of Islay, Argyllshire  
Special Duty Flight RAF Bowmore 'G' Class Flying Boats
RAF Station Carew Cheriton* Carew Cheriton, Milton Tenby, Pembrokeshire  
No 321 (Dutch) Sqn RAF Carew Cheriton Anson
Coastal Command Development Unit RAF Carew Cheriton Whitley, Beaufort, Hudson
RAF Station Falmouth* Falmouth, Devon Administered by RAF Mount Batten
Care and Maintenance Party RAF Falmouth - Administered by Mount Batten For operational use from time to time by Flying Boat Detachments
RAF Station Hooton Park Hooton Park, Little Sutton, Wirral, Cheshire  
No 48 Sqn (less 2 Flts) RAF Hooton Park Anson/Beaufort
RAF Station Mount Batten* Mount Batten, Plymouth, Devon  
No 10 Sqn RAAF (less detachment) RAF Pembroke Dock Sunderland
RAF Station Oban Dungalion House, Oban, Argyll  
No 210 Sqn RAF Oban Sunderland
Detachment No 10 Sqn RAAF RAF Oban Sunderland
RAF Station Pembroke Dock Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire  
Flying Boat Major Maintenance RAF Pembroke Dock Lerwick/Sunderland
RAF Station Port Ellen Port Ellen, Islay  
No 48 Sqn (1 Flt) Port Ellen Anson
Roborough Roborough, Plymouth, Devon Fleet Air Arm Station
No 15 Group Communication Flt RNAS Roborough  
RAF Station St Eval* St Eval, nr Wadebridge, Cornwall  
No 236 Sqn RAF St Eval Blenheim
No 217 Sqn RAF St Eval Anson/Beaufort
'B' Flt, No 1 Photographic Reconnaissance Unit RAF St Eval Spitfire/Blenheim
No 404 (Meteorological) Flt RAF St Eval Blenheim
No 1 Mobile Torpedo Base RAF St Eval  
RAF Station Stranraer Stranraer, Wigtownshire  
No 209 Sqn RAF Stranraer Lerwick
No 240 Sqn RAF Stranraer Stranraer
RAF Station Limavady Limavady, County Londonderry  
No 502 Sqn (1 Flt) RAF Limavady Whitley
No 100 Wing (SS Manela) RAF Lough Foyle  

*To be transferred to No 19 Group on move of No 15 Group

No 16 (Reconnaissance) Group

HQ - Black Lion Fields, Gillingham, Kent

Unit Location/Address Notes
RAF Station Bircham Newton Bircham Newton, King's Lynn, Norfolk  
No 221 Sqn RAF Limavady Wellington
No 206 Sqn RAF Bircham Newton Hudson, detachments at other stations
No 235 Sqn (less 1 Flight) RAF Bircham Newton Blenheim
No 500 Sqn (1 Flight) RAF Bircham Newton Anson
No 403 (Meteorological) Flt RAF Bircham Newton Anson
RAF Station Detling Detling, nr Maidstone, Kent  
No 500 Sqn (less 1 Flight) RAF Detling Anson/Blenheim
RAF Station Felixstowe Felixstowe, Suffolk Under Care and Maintenance
RAF Station North Coates North Coates, Grimsby, Lincolnshire  
No 22 Sqn RAF North Coates Beaufort, detachments at other stations
No 2 Mobile Torpedo Base RAF North Coates  
RAF Station Eastchurch Eastchurch, Kent Under Care and Maintenance
Rochester (Civil) Rochester, Kent  
No 16 Group Communication Flt Rochester  
RAF Station Thorney Island Thorney Island, Emsworth, Hampshire  
No 59 Sqn RAF Thorney Island Blenheim
No 235 Sqn (1 Flight) RAF Thorney Island Blenheim
No 53 Sqn RAF Thorney Island Blenheim

No 17 (Training) Group

HQ - RAF Gosport, Hampshire

Unit Location/Address Notes
RAF Station Abbotsinch Abbotsinch, Paisley  
Torpedo Training Unit RAF Abbotsinch Beaufort
RAF Station Calshot Calshot Spit, Hampshire  
Marine Craft Repair Section RAF Calshot  
Marine Craft Section RAF Calshot  
Marine Craft Instructional Section RAF Calshot  
Flying Boat Repair Section (part) RAF Calshot  
RAF Station Catfoss Catfoss, Nr Hull, East Yorkshire  
No 2 OTU RAF Catfoss Blenheim/Anson
RAF Station Chivenor Chivenor, Devon  
No 3 OTU RAF Chivenor Various
No 252 Sqn RAF Chivenor Beaufighter
No 1 Coast Artillery Co-operation Unit RAF Detling Blenheim
RAF Station Gosport Gosport, Hampshire  
Torpedo Development Unit and Instructional Section RAF Gosport Various
No 2 AACU (less 'C' flight at Cleve and 'D' Flight at Donibristle) RAF Gosport  
Fleet Air Arm Maintenance Unit RAF Gosport  
No 86 Sqn RAF Gosport Blenheim
RAF Station Greenock Greenock, Renfrewshire  
Flying Boat Major Maintenance RAF Greenock  
Flying Boat Repair Section RAF Greenock  
RAF Station Silloth Silloth, Carlisle, Cumberland  
No 1 (Coastal) OTU RAF Silloth Various
RAF Station Squire's Gate Squire's Gate, Lytham St Annes, Lancashire  
No 3 School of General Reconnaissance RAF Squire's Gate Botha
Flying Boat Training Sqn (15 Group unit) RAF Stranraer Singapore III

No 18 (Reconnaissance) Group

HQ - Pitreavie Castle, Rosyth, Dunfermline

Unit Location/Address Notes
RAF Station Dyce Dyce, Aberdeen  
No 612 Sqn RAF Dyce Anson/Whitley
No 254 Sqn RAF Dyce Blenheim
No 608 Sqn (1 Flight) RAF Dyce Anson
RAF Station Helensburgh Helensburgh, Dunbartonshire  
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment RAF Helensburgh Various
RAF Station Invergordon Invergordon, Ross and Cromarty  
RAF Station Leuchars Leuchars, Fife  
No 10 Blind Approach Training Flt RAF Leuchars Wellington
No 224 Sqn RAF Leuchars Hudson
No 18 Group Communication Flt RAF Leuchars Various
No 320 Sqn (RDNAS) RAF Leuchars  
RAF Station Stornoway Isle of Lewis  
No 48 Sqn (1 Flight) RAF Stornoway Anson
RAF Station Sullom Voe Sullom Voe, Shetland  
No 201 Sqn RAF Sullom Voe Sunderland
No 204 Sqn RAF Sullom Voe Sunderland
RAF Floating Dock RAF Sullom Voe  
RAF Station Sumburgh Sumburgh, Shetland  
No 248 Sqn RAF Sumburgh Blenheim
RAF Station Thornaby Thornaby, North Yorkshire  
No 608 Sqn (less 1 Flight) RAF Thornaby Anson/Blenheim
No 220 Sqn RAF Thornaby Hudson
No 9 Blind Approach Training Flt RAF Thornaby Wellington
RAF Station Wick Wick, Caithness  
No 269 Sqn RAF Wick Hudson
No42 Sqn RAF Wick Beaufort
'C' Flt, Photographic Reconnaissance Unit RAF Wick Spitfire/Blenheim

No 19 (Reconnaissance) Group

HQ - Mount Wise, Plymouth

Unit Location/Address Notes
In the process of forming

No 200 Group

HQ - Gibraltar

Unit Location/Address Notes
No 202 Sqn Gibraltar London

Source - SD161 (6th Issue) January 1941

County names used are those in use at the time

[Command HQ | No 15 Group | No 16 Group | No 17 Group | No 18 Group | No 19 Group | No 200 Group]

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]