Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Air Forces in India - May 1940

AHQ - New Delhi

Unit Location
Aircraft Depot RAF Karachi
No 27 (Bomber) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Risalpur
RAF Station Ambala Ambala, India
No 60 (Bomber) Sqn (less 2 aircraft at Calcutta, Madras, Bombay and Karachi) (Blenheims) RAF Ambala
No 5 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (1 Flight) (Wapiti) Fort Sandeman
HQ No 1 (Indian ) Group RAF Peshawar
No 31 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (Valentias) RAF Peshawar
RAF Station Kohat RAF Kohat
No 28 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (Audax) RAF Kohat
No 20 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (Audax) RAF Kohat
RAF Station Lahore RAF Lahore
No 11 (Bomber) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Lahore
No 39 (Bomber) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Lahore
Central Wireless Station RAF Lahore

In addition the following are included in the Command's establishment:

Unit Note
HQ Air Forces in India renamed 'AHQ India' Establishment India No 1
RAF Hill Depot Establishment India No 11
Chowkidars, Khassadars and Levy Sowars for the Air Firing and Bombing ranges in India Establishment India No 12
No 1 Sqn, Indian Air Force Establishment India No 13
Indian Air Force Reserve Pool Establishment India No 14
British Instructional Staff for the IAF Apprentices Establishment India No 15

Source - SD161 (3rd Issue), May 1940

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]