Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Fighter Command - January 1940

No 11 (Fighter) Group (HQ - Uxbridge)

Unit Location
RAF Station Biggin Hill Biggin Hill, Kent
No 32 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Biggin Hill
RAF Station Kenley Kenley, Surrey
No 3 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Kenley
RAF Station Croydon Croydon, Middlesex
No 145 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Croydon
No 92 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Croydon
RAF Station Filton Filton, Bristol
No 263 (Fighter) Sqn* (Gladiators) Filton
No 2 Ferry Pilots Pool (Maintenance Command) (Ansons) Filton
RAF Station Hendon Hendon, Middlesex
No 24 Sqn (Various) RAF Hendon
RAF Station Hornchurch Hornchurch, Essex
No 74 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Hornchurch
No 54 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Hornchurch
Care & Maintenance Party Castle Bromwich
RAF Station North Weald North Weald, Essex
No 56 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF North Weald
No 151 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF North Weald
No 25 (Fighter) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF North Weald
RAF Station Northolt Northolt, Middlesex
No 65 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Northolt
No 604 (County of Middlesex) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Blenheims) RAF Northolt
No 253 (Fighter) Sqn* (Hurricanes) RAF Northolt
RAF Station Manston Manston, Kent
No 600 (City of London) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Blenheims) RAF Manston
No 79 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Manston
RAF Station Tangmere Tangmere, Sussex
No 601 (Country of London) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Blenheims) RAF Tangmere
No 501 (County of Gloucester) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Hurricanes) RAF Tangmere


No 12 (Fighter) Group (HQ - Hucknall)

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Debden Debden, Essex
No 29 (Fighter) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Debden
No 504 (County of Nottingham) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Hurricanes) RAF Debden
RAF Station Digby Digby, Lincolnshire
No 46 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Digby
No 611 (West Lancashire) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Spitfires) RAF Digby
No 229 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Digby
Care & Maintenance Party RAF Speke
RAF Station Doncaster Doncaster, West Riding of Yorkshire
No 271 (Transport) Sqn (Various) RAF Doncaster
RAF Station Duxford Duxford, Cambridgeshire
No 19 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Duxford
No 66 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Duxford
No 222 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Duxford
RAF Station Hucknall Hucknall, Nottingham
No 98 (R) (Bomber) Sqn (Battles) RAF Hucknall
No 1 Ferry Pilots Pool (Ansons) (Maintenance Command) RAF Hucknall
RAF Station Martlesham Heath Martlesham Heath, Suffolk
No 17 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Martlesham Heath
No 264 (Fighter) Sqn* (Defiants) RAF Martlesham Heath
No 266 (Fighter) Sqn* (Spitfires) RAF Martlesham Heath
RAF Station Wittering Wittering, Leicestershire
No 23 (Fighter) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Wittering
No 213 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Wittering
No 610 (County of Chester) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Spitfires) RAF Wittering


The following changes to the above took place before the issue of the next SD161

Change Note
No 254 Sqn at Sutton Bridge was transferred to No 16 Group at RAF Bircham Newton AL2, Feb 1940

No 13 (Fighter) Group (HQ - Newcastle)

Unit Location
RAF Station Acklington Acklington, Alnwick, Northumberland
No 152 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Acklington
No 72 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Acklington
RAF Station Catterick Catterick, North Riding of Yorkshire
No 41 (Fighter) Sqn (Spitfires) RAF Catterick
No 219 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Catterick
Care & Maintenance Party RAF Usworth
Care & Maintenance Party Yeadon
Station Flight Yeadon
RAF Station Church Fenton Church Fenton, West Riding of Yorkshire
No 64 (Fighter) Sqn (Blenheims) RAF Church Fenton
No 242 (Fighter) Sqn* (Hurricanes) RAF Church Fenton
No 141 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Grangemouth
RAF Station Drem Drem, East Lothian
No 602 (City of Glasgow) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Spitfires) RAF Drem
No 609 (West Riding) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Spitfires) RAF Drem
RAF Station Leconfield Leconfield, Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
No 616 (South Yorkshire) (Fighter) Sqn AAF* (Spitfires) RAF Leconfield
No 234 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Leconfield
No 245 (Fighter) Sqn* (Blenheims) RAF Leconfield
No 603 (City of Edinburgh) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Spitfires) RAF Dyce - Station in Coastal Command
No 605 (County of Warwick) (Fighter) Sqn AAF (Hurricanes) RAF Wick - Station in Coastal Command
No 43 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Wick - Station in Coastal Command
No 111 (Fighter) Sqn (Hurricanes) RAF Wick - Station in Coastal Command


No 22 (Army Co-operation) Group (HQ - Farnborough)

Unit Location
RAF Station Odiham Odiham, Hampshire
No 613 (City of Manchester) (Army Co-operation) Sqn AAF* (Hector) RAF Odiham
No 614 (County of Glamorgan) (Army Co-operation) Sqn AAF* (Lysander) RAF Odiham
No 225 (Army Co-operation) Sqn* (Lysander) RAF Odiham
Care & Maintenance Party Cardiff
FAA Sqn (Swordfish) Cardiff
RAF Station Old Sarum Old Sarum, Wiltshire
No 1 School of Army Co-operation (Hectors/Lysanders) RAF Old Sarum.
No 110 Sqn RCAF* (Lysander) RAF Old Sarum.
RAF Station Andover Andover, Hampshire
RAF Staff College RAF Andover
No 2 School of Army Co-operation (Ansons) RAF Andover
Army Co-operation Reservoir (Blenheims) RAF Andover
RAF Station Squires Gate Squires Gate, Blackpool, Lancashire
'F' Flight, No 1 AACU (Henleys) RAF Squires Gate
No 9 Air Observers Navigation School (Various) RAF Squires Gate
RAF Station Ringway Ringway, Manchester, Lancashire
No 110 AACU Wing RAF Ringway
RAF Station Hawkinge Hawkinge, Kent
No 16 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (Lysander) RAF Hawkinge
RAF Station Farnborough Farnborough, Hampshire
Royal Aircraft Establishment RAF Farnborough
School of Photography RAF Farnborough
HQ, No 1 AACU RAF Farnborough


The following changes to the above took place before the issue of the next SD161

Change Note
No 254 Sqn at Sutton Bridge was transferred to No 16 Group at RAF Bircham Newton AL2, Feb 1940
No 3 School of Technical Training formed/moved to RAF Squires Gate AL2, Feb 1940


No 22 Group was also responsible for the flights No 1 Anti-Aircraft Co-operation Unit, located as follows: -


Flight(s) Location To work with the range at
HQ RAF Farnborough  
A RAF Weston Zoyland Watchet
B RAF Carew Cheriton - Station in Coastal Command Manorbier


RAF Penrhos - Station in Training Command 'Towyn





RAF Cleave Penhale Sands



E RAF West Freugh - Station in Training Command Burrow Head
F RAF Squires Gate Cark
W RAF Kidsdale Burrow Head
X & Z RAF Watchet Watchet
Y RAF Manorbier Manorbier

Note - Flights 'A' - 'J' - Towing Flights, Flights 'V' - 'Z' - Pilotless Aircraft Flights

Operational Training Units/Miscellaneous Units

Unit Location
No 5 OTU (Spitfires/Blenheims) RAF Aston Down
No 6 OTU (Hurricanes) RAF St Athan
No 1 Camouflage Unit (Various) Baginton (being transferred to Training Command)
Photographic Development Unit (Various) Heston
Air Ministry Unit London
Voice Production Unit Cambridge

Source - SD161 (2nd Issue), January 1940

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]