Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Command - December 1939

No 15 (Reconnaissance) Group (HQ - Plymouth)

Unit Location/Administered by
Station HQ Aldergrove
No 502 (Ulster) (General Reconnaissance) Sqn AAF RAF Aldergrove
Station HQ Carew Cheriton, Pembrokeshire
Station HQ Hooton Park, Cheshire
Station HQ Mount Batten, Plymouth, Devon
No 204 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Mount Batten
Station HQ Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
No 210 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Pembroke Dock
No 228 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Pembroke Dock
Station HQ St Eval, Newquay, Cornwall
No 217 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF St Eval

No 16 (Reconnaissance) Group (HQ - Chatham)

Unit Location/Administered by
Station HQ Bircham Newton, Norfolk
No 42 (Torpedo Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 206 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
Station HQ Detling, Kent
No 500 (County of Kent) (General Reconnaissance) Sqn AAF RAF Detling
Station HQ Thorney Island, Hampshire
No 22 (Torpedo Bomber) Sqn RAF Thorney Island
No 48 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Thorney Island
No 1 General Reconnaissance Unit RAF Manston

No 17 (Training) Group (HQ - Gosport)

Unit Location/Administered by
Station HQ Calshot Spit, Hampshire
  1. Seaplane Training Sqn
  2. Miscellaneous Sections for major maintenance of Flying Boat squadrons and Marine Craft instruction
Station HQ Gosport, Hampshire
  1. Torpedo Training Unit
  2. Torpedo Development Flight
  3. No 2 Anti-Aircraft Co-operation Unit (less 'C' Flight at Mount Batten)
  4. Miscellaneous sections for Fleet Air Arm and Marine Craft repairs etc.
Coastal Command Pool RAF Silloth
School of General Reconnaissance RAF Thorney Island - Station in No 16 Group

No 18 (Reconnaissance) Group (HQ - Pitreavie Castle)

Unit Location/Administered by
Station HQ Dyce, Aberdeen
No 612 (County of Aberdeen) (General Reconnaissance) Sqn AAF RAF Dyce
Station HQ Helensburgh, Dunbartonshire
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment RAF Helensburgh
Station HQ Invergordon, Ross and Cromarty
No 201 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Invergordon
Station HQ Leuchars, Fife
No 224 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Leuchars
No 233 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Leuchars
Station HQ Oban, Argyllshire
No 209 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn (less detachment) RAF Oban
Station HQ Thornaby, North Riding of Yorkshire
No 608 (North Riding) (General Reconnaissance) Sqn AAF RAF Thornaby
No 220 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Thornaby
Station HQ Wick, Caithness
No 269 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Wick
SS Manela (No 100 Wing)  
No 240 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn SS Manela

Source - Confidential Air Force List, December 1939

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

[Top of Page]