Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Training Command - July 1938

No 23 (Training) Group

Unit Location/Administered by
Central Flying School RAF Upavon
No 1 Flying Training School RAF Leuchars
No 2 Flying Training School RAF Brize Norton
No 3 Flying Training School RAF South Cerney
No 5 Flying Training School RAF Sealand
No 6 Flying Training School RAF Netheravon
No 7 Flying Training School RAF Peterborough
No 8 Flying Training School RAF Montrose
No 9 Flying Training School RAF Hullavington
No 10 Flying Training School RAF Tern Hill
No 11 Flying Training School RAF Shawbury
Packing Depot (a) RAF Sealand
School of Air Navigation RAF Manston
No 48 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Eastchurch
Station Flt RAF Tern Hill
No 24 Maintenance Unit RAF Tern Hill
No 27 Maintenance Unit RAF Shawbury

(a) Administered as laid down in AMO A262/35

No 24 (Training) Group

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Cardington Cardington, Bedfordshire
Royal Airship Works (d) RAF Cardington
No 2 RAF Depot RAF Cardington
No 1 Balloon Training Unit (g) RAF Cardington
Station HQ RAF Halton
No 1 School of Technical Training (Apprentices) RAF Halton
School of Cookery RAF Halton
Princess Mary's Hospital RAF Halton
RAF Institute of Pathology and Tropical Medicine (a) RAF Halton
Medical Training Depot (a) RAF Halton
Service Police HQ and Training Centre RAF Halton
No 2 School of Technical Training (Apprentices) RAF Cosford
School of Photography RAF Farnborough
Home Aircraft Depot RAF Henlow
Medical Stores Depot RAF Kidbrooke
Central Medical Establishment (a) London
Inspector of Recruiting (c) London
Station HQ RAF Manston
No 3 School of Technical Training (Men) RAF Manston
Aeroplane and Armament Experimental Establishment RAF Martlesham Heath
No 2 Maintenance Sub-Depot (e) RAF Pulham
No 2 Balloon Training Unit Rollestone Camp
Record Office (c) Ruislip
No 1 RAF Depot RAF Uxbridge
RAF Officers' Hospital RAF Uxbridge
RAF Central Band (b) RAF Uxbridge
School of Physical Training RAF Uxbridge
Reception Depot RAF West Drayton
No 1 Maintenance Unit (e) RAF Kidbrooke
No 2 Maintenance Unit (e) RAF Altrincham
No 3 Maintenance Unit (e) RAF Milton
No 4 Maintenance Unit (e) RAF Ruislip
No 11 Maintenance Unit (e) RAF Chilmark
No 1 MT Storage Unit and 'D' Maintenance Unit (f) Wembley
No 8 MT Storage Unit (f) Norwich
'B' Maintenance Unit (e) Hammersmith
'C' Maintenance Unit (e) Coventry

(a) Directly under Director of Medical Services for technical (medical) administration.

(b) Administered as laid down in KR & ACI 2062

(c) Directly under Director of Personal Services for technical administration.

(d) Directly under the Air Ministry for technical administration.

(e) Administered as laid down in AMO A282/35

(f) Administered as laid down in AMO A283/35

(g) Under No 30 (Barrage Balloon) Group for training administration.

No 25 (Armament) Group

Unit Location/Administered by
No 1 Air Armament School RAF Eastchurch
No 1 Air Observers School RAF North Coates
Temporary Armament Training Station RAF North Coates
No 1 Armament Training Station RAF Catfoss
No 2 Armament Training Station RAF Aldergrove
RAF Station Aldergrove Aldergrove, Northern Ireland
Station Flt RAF Aldergrove
No 3 Armament Training Station RAF Sutton Bridge
Temporary Armament Training Station RAF Leuchars
No 4 Armament Training Station RAF West Freugh
No 5 Armament Training Station RAF Penrhos
No 6 Armament Training Station RAF Warmwell
No 7 Armament Training Station RAF Acklington
No 8 Armament Training Station RAF Evanton

No 26 (Training) Group*

Unit Location/Administered by
No 1 Elementary and Reserve Flying Training School Hatfield
No 2 ERFTS Filton
No 3 ERFTS Hamble
No 4 ERFTS Brough
No 5 ERFTS Hamworth
No 6 ERFTS Sywell
No 7 ERFTS Desford
No 8 ERFTS Reading
No 9 ERFTS Ansty
No 10 ERFTS Yatesbury
No 11 ERFTS Perth
No 12 ERFTS Prestwick
No 13 ERFTS White Waltham
No 14 ERFTS Castle Bromwich
No 15 ERFTS Redhill
No 16 ERFTS Shoreham
No 17 ERFTS Barton
No 18 ERFTS Fairoaks Woking
No 19 ERFTS Gatwick
No 20 ERFTS Gravesend
No 21 ERFTS Stapleford Abbots
No 22 ERFTS Cambridge
No 23 ERFTS Rochester
No 25 ERFTS Grimsby
No 26 ERFTS Oxford
No 27 ERFTS Tollerton
RAFVR Town Centre Birmingham
RAFVR Town Centre Brighton
RAFVR Town Centre Bristol
RAFVR Town Centre Cambridge
RAFVR Town Centre Coventry
RAFVR Town Centre Glasgow
RAFVR Town Centre Grimsby
RAFVR Town Centre Hull
RAFVR Town Centre Leicester
RAFVR Town Centre London
RAFVR Town Centre Manchester
RAFVR Town Centre Northampton
RAFVR Town Centre Nottingham
RAFVR Town Centre Oxford
RAFVR Town Centre Perth
RAFVR Town Centre Reading
RAFVR Town Centre Rochester
RAFVR Town Centre Southampton

*Directly responsible to the Air Ministry for the administration and elementary training of pilots for the RAF, for the training of officers and airmen pilots of the RAF Reserve and the RAF Volunteer Reserve and for the administration of the RAFO and RAFVR

RAF Cranwell

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Cranwell Cranwell, Lincolnshire
RAF College RAF Cranwell
Electrical and Wireless School RAF Cranwell
RAF College Band RAF Cranwell
RAF Hospital RAF Cranwell
Supplies Depot RAF Cranwell
Equipment Training School RAF Cranwell

Source - July 1938 Air Force List

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]