Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Bomber Command - July 1937

No 1 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Abingdon)

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Abingdon Abingdon, Berkshire
No 15 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
No 40 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
Station Flt RAF Abingdon
Otmoor Bombing Range RAF Abingdon
RAF Station Bicester Bicester, Oxfordshire
No 90 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bicester
No 101 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bicester
RAF Station Cranfield Cranfield, Bedfordshire
No 62 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Cranfield
No 82 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Cranfield
No 108 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Cranfield
RAF Station Harwell Harwell, Oxfordshire
No 105 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Harwell
No 107 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Harwell
No 226 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Harwell
RAF Station Lympne Lympne, Kent
No 21 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Lympne
No 34 (Bomber) Sqn RAFLympne
RAF Station Upper Heyford Upper Heyford, Oxfordshire
No 18 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
No 57 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
No 113 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
No 218 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
RAF Station Usworth Usworth, County Durham
No 103 (Bomber) Sqn Usworth
Oxford University Air Sqn (b) RAF Abingdon

(a) Directly under Director of Training for training.

No 2 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Andover)

Unit Location/Administered by
No 602 (City of Glasgow) (Bomber) Sqn AAF RAF Abbotsinch
RAF Station Andover Andover, Hampshire
Station Flt RAF Andover
No 12 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
No 44 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
No 142 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
RAF Staff College RAF Andover
Porton Bombing range RAF Andover
No 605 (County of Warwick) (Bomber) Sqn AAF Castle Bromwich
RAF Station Hucknall Hucknall, Nottinghamshire
No 98 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hucknall
No 104 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hucknall
RAF Station Turnhouse Turnhouse, Edinburgh
No 83 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Turnhouse
RAF Station Upwood Upwood, Huntingdonshire
No 52 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upwood
No 63 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upwood
RAF Station Worthy Down Worthy Down, Hampshire
No 35 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
No 49 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
No 207 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
RAF Station Wyton Wyton, Huntingdonshire
No 114 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Wyton
No 139 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Wyton

No 3 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Mildenhall)

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Feltwell Feltwell, Norfolk
No 37 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Feltwell
No 214 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Feltwell
RAF Station Hemswell Hemswell, Lincolnshire
No 61 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hemswell
No 144 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hemswell
RAF Station Honington Honington, Suffolk
No 77 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Honington
No 102 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Honington
RAF Station Marham Marham, Norfolk
No 38 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Marham
No 115 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Marham
RAF Station Mildenhall Mildenhall, Suffolk
No 99 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Mildenhall
No 149 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Mildenhall
No 211 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Mildenhall
Station Flt RAF Mildenhall
Berners Heath Bombing Range RAF Mildenhall
RAF Station Scampton Scampton, Lincolnshire
No 9 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Stradishall
No 148 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Stradishall
RAF Station Waddington Waddington, Lincolnshire
No 50 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Waddington
No 88 (Bomber) Sqn* RAF Waddington
No 110 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Waddington

*To move to Boscombe Down (No 4 Group) on 10 Jul 1937

No 4 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Linton-on-Ouse)

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Boscombe Down RAF Boscombe Down
No 51 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Boscombe Down
No 58 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Boscombe Down
No 88 (Bomber) Sqn* RAF Boscombe Down
RAF Station Dishforth Dishforth, North Riding of Yorkshire
No 10 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Dishforth
No 78 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Dishforth
RAF Station Driffield Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
No 75 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Driffield
No 215 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Driffield
RAF Station Finningley Finningley, West Riding of Yorkshire
No 7 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Finningley
No 76 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Finningley
RAF Station Leconfield Leconfield, East Riding of Yorkshire
No 97 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Leconfield
No 166 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Leconfield
RAF Station Linton-on-Ouse Linton-on-Ouse, North Riding of Yorkshire

*To move from Waddington (No 3 Group) on 10 Jul 1937

No 6 (Auxiliary) Group (HQ - 33-34 Tavistock Place, London, WC1)

Unit Location
Auxiliary Air Force Units
No 500 (County of Kent) (Bomber) Sqn Manston
No 501 (City of Bristol) (Bomber) Sqn Filton
No 502 (Ulster) (Bomber) Sqn Aldergrove
No 503 (City of Lincoln) (Bomber) Sqn Waddington
No 504 (County of Nottingham) Sqn Hucknall
No 609 (West Riding) (Bomber) Sqn Yeadon
No 610 (County of Chester) (Bomber) Sqn Hooton Park
No 611 (West Lancashire) (Bomber) Sqn Speke
No 612 (County of Aberdeen) (Army Co-op) Sqn Aberdeen
No 614 (County of Glamorgan) (Army Co-op) Sqn Cardiff
No 615 (County of Surrey) (Army Co-op) Sqn Whyteleafe

Source - July 1937 Air Force List

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]