Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Air Defence of Great Britain - July 1936

No 1 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Abingdon)

Unit Location
Station HQ Abingdon, Oxfordshire
No 15 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
No 40 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
No 98 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
No 104 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Abingdon
Station Flt RAF Abingdon
Station HQ Bircham Newton, Norfolk
No 18 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 21 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 34 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 35 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 49 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 207 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
Station HQ Upper Heyford
No 33 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
No 57 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
No 218 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Upper Heyford
Oxford University Air Sqn (d) Oxford

No 2 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Abingdon)

Unit Location
No units allocated  

No 3 (Bomber) Group (HQ - Andover)

Unit Location
Station HQ Aldergrove
No 9 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Aldergrove
No 502 (Ulster) (Bomber) Sqn RAF Aldergrove
Armament Training Camp RAF Aldergrove
Station HQ Andover, Oxfordshire
No 12 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
No 142 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
No 214 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Andover
RAF Staff College (a) Andover
Station Flt RAF Andover
No 101 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Bicester
Station HQ Boscombe Down
No 10 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Boscombe Down
No 97 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Boscombe Down
Station HQ Mildenhall
No 38 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Mildenhall
No 99 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Mildenhall
Station HQ Worthy Down
No 7 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
No 58 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
No 102 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down
No 215 (Bomber) Sqn RAF Worthy Down


No 6 (Auxiliary) Group (HQ - 33-34 Tavistock Place, London, WC1)

Unit Location
Central Medical Establishment (b) 3-4 Clement's Inn, WC2
Inspector of Recruiting (c) Gwydyr House, London SW1
  1. RAF Recruiting Depot
  1. Gwydyr House, London SW1
Station HQ RAF Hendon
No 24 (Communication) Sqn (HQ and 2 Flts) (d) RAF Hendon
No 1 MT Storage Unit (a) Hendon
No 1 Aircraft Storage Unit (a) Waddington
Auxiliary Air Force Units
No 500 (County of Kent) (Bomber) Sqn Manston
No 501 (City of Bristol) (Bomber) Sqn Filton
No 503 (City of Lincoln) (Bomber) Sqn Waddington
No 504 (County of Nottingham) Sqn Hucknall
No 600 (City of London) (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hendon
No 601 (County of London) (Bomber) Sqn RAF Hendon
No 602 (City of Glasgow) (Bomber) Sqn Renfrew
No 603 (City of Edinburgh) (Bomber) Sqn RAF Turnhouse
No 604 (County of Middlesex) Sqn RAF Hendon
No 605 (County of Warwick) (Bomber) Sqn Castle Bromwich
No 607 (County of Durham) (Bomber) Sqn Usworth
No 608 (North Riding) (Bomber) Sqn Thornaby
No 609 (West Riding) (Bomber) Sqn Yeadon
No 610 (County of Chester) (Bomber) Sqn Hooton Park
No 611 (West Lancashire) (Bomber) Sqn Speke


No 11 (Fighter) Group (HQ - Uxbridge)

Unit Location
Station HQ Biggin Hill
No 23 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Biggin Hill
No 32 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Biggin Hill
Anti-Aircraft Co-operation Flt RAF Biggin Hill
Station HQ Duxford
No 19 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Duxford
Station Flt RAF Duxford
No 25 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Hawkinge
No 64 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Henlow
Station HQ Hornchurch
No 54 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Hornchurch
No 65 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Hornchurch
Station HQ Kenley
No 3 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Kenley
No 17 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Kenley
No 2 MT Storage Section (a) RAF Kenley
Station HQ Northolt
Station Flt RAF Northolt
No 41 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Northolt
No 111 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Northolt
Station HQ North Weald
No 29 (Fighter) Sqn RAF North Weald
No 56 (Fighter) Sqn RAF North Weald
Station HQ Tangmere
No 1 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Tangmere
No 43 (Fighter) Sqn RAF Tangmere
Cambridge University Air Sqn (d) Cambridge
University of London Air Sqn (d) RAF Northolt

No 22 (Army Co-operation) Group (HQ - South Farnborough)

Unit Location
Station HQ South Farnborough
School of Photography (e) South Farnborough
No 4 (Army Co-operation) Sqn South Farnborough
Experimental Section, RAE (c) South Farnborough
No 2 Gunnery Co-operation Flt South Farnborough
School of Army Co-operation RAF Old Sarum
No 16 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Old Sarum
No 13 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Old Sarum
No 26 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Catterick
Station HQ Hawkinge
No 2 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Hawkinge
RAF Balloon Centre Rollestone Camp

(a) Administered as laid down in AMO A283/35

(b) Directly under Director of Medical Services for technical (medical) administration.

(c) Directly under Air Ministry (Director of Personal Services) for technical administration.

(d) Directly under Air Ministry (Director of Training) for operations.

(e) Directly under Air Ministry (Director of Training) for technical administration.

Source - July 1936 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                      [Top of Page]