Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Inland Area - January 1934

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
RAF Officers' Hospital (e) RAF Uxbridge

No 21 Group (HQ - West Drayton)

Unit Location
Reception Depot (a) RAF West Drayton
No 1 Stores Depot (e) RAF Kidbrooke
  1. Medical Stores Depot (f)
  2. Port Detachment
  1. RAF Kidbrooke
  2. South Dock, West India Dock
No 2 Stores Depot (e) Altrincham
No 3 Stores Depot (e) Milton
No 4 Stores Depot (e) Ruislip
RAF Depot RAF Uxbridge
  1. School of PT (c)
  2. RAF Central Band (h)
  3. Air Ministry Wireless Station (j)
  1. RAF Uxbridge
  2. RAF Uxbridge
  3. Kingsway, London
Aeroplane and Armament Experimental Establishment (e) RAF Martlesham Heath
  1. No 15 (Bomber) Sqn
  2. No 22 (Bomber) Sqn
  3. Detachment
  1. RAF Martlesham Heath
  2. RAF Martlesham Heath
  3. Orfordness
Record Office (e) (c) Ruislip
Home Aircraft Depot (d) RAF Henlow
No 1 Aircraft Storage Unit (e) Peterborough
No 2 Aircraft Storage Unit (e) Cardington

No 22 Group (HQ - South Farnborough)

Unit Location
Station HQ South Farnborough
School of Photography (b) South Farnborough
No 4 (Army Co-operation) Sqn South Farnborough
Experimental Section, RAE (c) South Farnborough
School of Army Co-operation RAF Old Sarum
No 16 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Old Sarum
Station HQ Netheravon
No 13 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Netheravon
Fleet Air Arm Squadrons and Flights (l) RAF Netheravon
No 26 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Catterick
Station HQ Manston
School of Technical Training (Men) (c) RAF Manston
No 2 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Manston
RAF Balloon Centre Larkhill

No 23 Group (HQ - 'St Vincents', Grantham)

Unit Location
No 3 Flying Training School RAF Grantham
No 5 Flying Training School RAF Sealand
Central Flying School RAF Wittering
Packing Depot (e) RAF Sealand

air Armament School (HQ - Eastchurch)

Unit Location
No 1 Armament Training Camp RAF Catfoss
  1. RAF Detachment
  1. Bridlington
No 2 Armament Training Camp RAF North Coates Fitties
No 3 Armament Training Camp RAF Sutton Bridge

(a) The CTTB who are accommodated at the Reception Depot, are directly under the Deputy Director of Manning for technical administration.

(b) Directly under the Air Ministry (Director of training and Deputy Director of Manning) for technical administration.

(c) Directly under the Air Ministry (Deputy Director of Manning) for technical administration.

(d) Administered as laid down in AMWO A60/31 (the Officers' Engineering Course which is accommodated at the Home Aircraft Depot, is directly under Air Ministry (Deputy Director of Manning) for technical administration.

(e) Administered as laid down in AMWO A83/1932.

(f) Directly under Director of Medical Services for technical administration.

(g) Controlled by Air Ministry (Director of Equipment).

(h) Administered as laid down in KR & ACI 2062

(j) Directly under the Air Ministry (Director of Signals Development - Signals Branch) for technical administration.

(k) Directly under the Air Ministry (Director of Training) for armament training.

(l) These Flights are directly under AOC, Coastal Area for training, operations and technical administration but under Inland Area for discipline, accommodation and supply of stores only

Source - January 1934 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]