Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Inland Area - July 1932

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
Air Ministry Wireless Station London
Armament & Gunnery School (i) RAF Eastchurch
  1. No 1 Armament Training Camp
  2. No 2 Armament Training Camp
  3. No 3 Armament Training Camp
  1. RAF Catfoss
  2. RAF North Coates Fitties
  3. RAF Sutton Bridge
Home Communication Flt RAF Hendon
RAF Central Band RAF Uxbridge
Fleet Air Flights RAF Station (i) RAF Netheravon
No 57 (Bomber) Sqn (also see Wessex Bombing Area) RAF Netheravon (Station admin only)

No 21 Group (HQ - West Drayton)

Unit Location
Reception Depot (b) RAF West Drayton
No 1 Stores Depot (c) RAF Kidbrooke
Port Detachment South Dock, West India Dock
School of Store Accounting and Store Keeping RAF Kidbrooke
Medical Stores Depot (f) RAF Kidbrooke
No 2 Stores Depot (c) Altrincham
Record Office (a) Ruislip
Home Aircraft Depot (g) RAF Henlow
Aeroplane and Armament Experimental Establishment (d) RAF Martlesham Heath
A & AEE Detachment Orfordness
No 15 (Bomber) Sqn (e) RAF Martlesham Heath
No 22 (Bomber) Sqn (e) RAF Martlesham Heath
No 3 Stores Depot (c) Milton
No 4 Stores Depot (c) Ruislip
RAF Depot RAF Uxbridge
School of PT (including in the establishment of the RAF Depot) RAF Uxbridge
RAF Officers' Hospital (e) RAF Uxbridge

No 22 Group (HQ - South Farnborough)

Unit Location
School of Photography (a) South Farnborough
Experimental Section, RAE (c) South Farnborough
School of Army Co-operation RAF Old Sarum
RAF Balloon Centre Larkhill
No 2 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Manston
No 4 (Army Co-operation) Sqn South Farnborough
No 13 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Netheravon (temporarily at Odihm)
No 16 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Old Sarum
No 26 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Catterick
Coast Defence Co-operation Flt RAF Eastchurch

No 23 Group (HQ - 'St Vincents', Grantham)

Unit Location
No 2 Flying Training School RAF Digby
No 3 Flying Training School RAF Grantham
No 5 Flying Training School RAF Sealand
Packing Depot (c) RAF Sealand
Central Flying School RAF Wittering
Station HQ Manston
School of Technical Training (Men) RAF Manston

(a) Directly under Director of Personnel Services for technical administration.

(b) The CTTB who are accommodated at the Reception Depot, are directly under the Deputy Director of Manning for technical administration.

(c) Directly under Director of Equipment.

(d) Administered as laid down in AMWO 33/1926

(e) Under No 21 Group for administration only

(f) Directly under Director of Medical Services for technical administration.

(g) Directly under Director of Equipment for technical administration.

(h) These Flights are directly under AOC, Coastal Area for training, operations and technical administration but under Inland Area for discipline, accommodation and supply of stores only

(i) Directly under the Air Ministry for matters affecting armament training.

Source - July 1932 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]