Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Inland Area - August 1920

No 1 Group

Unit Location
No 24 Sqn (a) Kenley
No 25 Sqn (Cadre) Hawkinge
No 39 Sqn (Cadre) Kenley
School of Technical Training (Men) Manston
Armament and Gunnery School (Cadre) Eastchurch
Balloon Stores Depot (Home) Kingsnorth
Inland Area Aircraft Depot Henlow
No 1 Stores Depot
  1. Armament Repair and Gun-testing Section
  2. Wireless Repair Section
    1. Wireless Station
  3. Photographic Repair Section
  4. Tool Repair Section
  5. MT Spares Repair Section
  6. Inland Area Hanger Party
  7. Port Detachment
  1. Kidbrooke
  2. Kidbrooke
    1. Kidbrooke
  3. Kidbrooke
  4. Kidbrooke
  5. Kidbrooke
  6. Kidbrooke
  7. Victoria Dock
No 3 Stores Depot Steventon
No 4 Stores Depot Ruislip
No 6 Stores Depot
  1. No 6 Sub-Stores Depot
  1. Bass' Yard, St Pancras
"Q" Stores Depot Feltham
Instrument Design Establishment (Home) (a) Biggin Hill
Central Pay Office
  1. Base Pay Office (France)
  1. Woking
General Services Pay Office Great Newport Street, London WC2
Imperial War Museum (RAF Section) London
Wireless Station Kenley
Wireless Station Milton, Steventon
Wireless Station Biggin Hill
Medical Stores Depot Shed M, Kidbrooke
Meteorological Section (b) Kidbrooke

(a) Directly under The Air Ministry for operations.

(b) Directly under The Air Ministry for all purposes.

No 3 Group

Unit Location
No 207 Sqn (Cadre) Bircham Newton
No 2 Flying Training School Duxford
No 3 Flying Training School (Cadre) Digby
No 5 Flying Training School (Cadre) Shotwick
No 6 Flying Training School (Cadre) Spittlegate
MT Repair Depot (a) Shrewsbury
Aeroplane Experimental Establishment (Home)
  1. Detachment
Martlesham Heath
  1. Orfordness
Wireless Station Bircham Newton
Wireless Station Spittlegate
Wireless Station Shotwick
Care and Maintenance Party Lincoln

(a) Directly under The Air Ministry for technical administration.

No 7 Group

Unit Location
No 4 Sqn (HQ, 'A' and 'B' Flights) South Farnborough
Air Pilotage School (Cadre) (a) Andover
School of Balloon Training Rollestone Camp
Electrical and Wireless School Flower Down
Central Flying School Upavon
No 1 Flying Training School Netheravon
School of Army Co-operation (including
  1. 'C' Flt, No 4 Sqn
Stonehenge and Worthy Down
  1. Stonehenge
School of Photography South Farnborough
Experimental Section (RAE) South Farnborough
Record Office Blanford
Meteorological Station South Farnborough
Meteorological Station Andover
Meteorological Station Rollestone Camp
Wireless Station Andover
Wireless Station Flower Down
Wireless Station Bordon Camp
No 7 Group Medical HQ Andover

(a) Control divided between Air Ministry and Area HQ.

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
School of Physical Training and Drill (administered by RAF Depot) Uxbridge
RAF Depot Uxbridge
Central Band (a) Uxbridge
Air Ministry MT Section (on establishment of No 1 Stores Depot) (b) Ebury Bridge Road, London
Record Office Detachment Uxbridge
Wireless Station Uxbridge
Discharge Centre Uxbridge
Inland Area Medical HQ Uxbridge
Central RAF Hospital (c) Finchley
Medical Officers' School of Instruction (d) Hampstead
Officers' Invaliding Board (c) Uxbridge
Research Laboratory (e) Hampstead
Candidates Medical Board (f) Hampstead
Barrack Store Gosport
No 2 (Northern) Aircraft Repair Depot Coal Aston

(a) Directly under Director of Personnel for technical administration.

(b) Under Director of Equipment for technical administration.

(c) Under The Air Ministry for technical administration.

(d) Under Principal Medical Officer, Inland Area, for all purposes.

(e) Under The Air Ministry for all purposes.

(f) Control divided between Air Ministry and  Principal Medical Officer, Inland Area.

Source - August 1920 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19

[Top of Page]