Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Other Overseas Commands - May 1920

Independent Units

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Aeronautical Commission of Control (Austria) Room 664, Air Ministry Wg Cdr J N Fletcher
Aeronautical Mission of Control (Germany)   A/Cdre Edward D Masterman CMG, CBE, AFC
  1. HQ
  2. Detachment
  1. Hotel Excelsior, Berlin
  2. Antwerp
Aeronautical Mission of Control (Bulgaria) Room 662, Air Ministry Gp Capt Arthur M Longmore DSO; later ACM
Pay Office, Canada Not stated Fg Off C J C Croydon

RAF Rhine

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 12 Sqn Heumar Sqn Ldr Richard E Saul DFC; later AVM
Stores and Repair Unit Eil  

Indian Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 52 (Corps) Wing HQ Dera Ismail Khan Wg Cdr William G S Mitchell  SO, MC, AFC; later ACM
Advanced HQ Manzai  
No 20 Sqn (HQ & 2 Flights) Bannu  
No 20 Sqn (1 Flight) Tank  
No 31 Sqn Risalpur Sqn Ldr A L Neale MC
No 31 Sqn Detachment Bannu  
No 5 Sqn Quetta Sqn Ldr Paul C Maltby DSO, AFC; later AVM
No 60 Sqn (HQ) Lahore Sqn Ldr John C Quinnell DFC; later A/Cdre
No 60 Sqn (1 Flight) Miawali  
No 60 Sqn (Aerial Mail Detachment) Bombay  
No 60 Sqn (Aerial Mail Detachment) Karachi  
No 60 Sqn (Aerial Mail Detachment) Rajkot  
No 27 Sqn Mianwali  
No 28 Sqn Ambala Sqn Ldr R J F Barton OBE
Aircraft Park Lahore Wg Cdr C G S Gould
  1. Port Depot
  2. Detachment
  1. Bombay
  2. Karachi
Aircraft Factory Lahore  
Meteorological Station Banna Abbas  
Meteorological Station Karachi  
No 1 Sqn Forming  
No 3 Sqn Forming  

Mediterranean Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 267 Sqn Malta Sqn Ldr Edward Osmond CBE
No 202 Sqn Alexandria Sqn Ldr W G Sitwell DSO
Care & Maintenance Party (Refuelling base) Port Said  
Disposal Depot, Malta Malta  
Meteorological Station, Malta Malta Flt Lt T Agius
Aircraft Carriers    
  1. HMS Pegasus
  2. HMS Ark Royal

Overseas units in the course of disbandment and amalgamation

Unit Location Officer Commanding
HQ, France and Flanders Wimereux Wg Cdr G B Hynes DSO
HQ, South Russia   Sqn Ldr J O Archer OBE
RAF Depot Arques  
Stores and Repair Unit Eil  
Disposal Depot, Malta Malta Flt Lt W F Bryant
RAF Liaison HQ Constantinople Flt Lt H M Seton-Karr
No 1 African Survey Khartoum  
No 2 African Survey Nairobi Flt Lt E C Emmett
No 3 African Survey Pretoria Flt Lt C Court-Treatt
RAF Maintenance Party, Marquise Marquise Flt Lt W A Winter

Source - May 1920 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

[Top of Page]