Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Other Home Commands - April 1920

RAF Cranwell

Unit Location (Air) Officer Commanding
No 2 School of Technical Training (Boys) Cranwell Wg Cdr Christopher L Courtney CBE, DSO; later ACM
Hospital Cranwell Sqn Ldr G Cranstoun BA


RAF Halton

Unit Location (Air) Officer Commanding
No 1 School of Technical Training Halton Wg Cdr Andrew G Board CMG, DSO; later A/Cdre
RAF Depot, Halton Camp In the process of moving to Uxbridge  
Discharge Centre, Halton Camp In the process of moving to Uxbridge  
Records Detachment Officers, Halton Camp In the process of moving to Uxbridge  
Halton Medical HQ Halton Wg Cdr H M S Turner
Halton Hospitals (General and Isolation) Halton Sqn Ldr J MacGregor MC, MD
Halton Hospital Orderlies Training Depot Halton Sqn Ldr F C Cowton

No 11 (Irish) Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
No 2 Sqn (1 Flt) Oranmore Sqn Ldr Barry F Moore
No 100 Sqn Baldonell Sqn Ldr The Hon L J E Twisleton-Wykeham-Fiennes
Irish Stores Centre Baldonell Fg Off B C Akehurst
Meteorological Station Baldonell  
Medical HQ, Ireland Baldonell  

Medical Units (not listed elsewhere)

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Aviation Candidates Medical Board and Central Medical Board 22 Fitzjohn's Avenue, Hampstead NW3 Wg Cdr A P Bowdler MB, MA
Central RAF Hospital Avenue House, Finchley N3 Sqn Ldr H W Scott BA
Old Sarum Hospital Salisbury Sqn Ldr W W Shorten
Research Laboratories and Medical Officers School of Instruction 22 Fitzjohn's Avenue, Hampstead NW3 Wg Cdr M W Flack CBE, MA, MB, BA

Home units in the course of disbandment and amalgamation

Unit Location Officer Commanding
HQ, No 2 Group Uxbridge  
No 8 Aircraft Acceptance Park Lympne Sqn Ldr J McCrae MBE
No 10 Aircraft Acceptance Park Brooklands Sqn Ldr Arthur T Harris AFC; later MRAF
No 14 Aircraft Acceptance Park Castle Bromwich Flt Lt J C M Hay
No 1 Aircraft Repair Depot South Farnborough  
No 2 (Northern) Aircraft Repair Depot Coal Aston  
No 3 (Western) Aircraft Repair Depot Yate  
E & P Depot Chingford  
No 2 (Newcastle) Stores Distributing Park Newcastle-upon-Tyne  
No 5 Stores Distributing Park Edgbaston Flt Lt William B Cushion; later AVM
No 7 Stores Distributing Park Westbury Flt Lt G Stevens MBE
No 11 Stores Distributing Park Dublin Fg Off J Lundon
Airship Construction Station, Barrow Barrow-in-Furness  
Airship Construction Station, Bedford Cardington, Bedford  
Airship Construction Station, Wormwood Scrubbs (Cadrer) Wormwood Scrubbs  
Airship Station, Anglesey (C & M) Anglesey Flt Lt J Hutton
Airship Station, East Fortune East Fortune Sqn Ldr W C Hicks AFC
Airship Station, Mullion Mullion Fg Off H E Davies
Airship Experimental Station Pulham  
Air Ministry (Non-Standard) MT Storage Pool Gosport Plt Off A M Webster
No 1 Salvage Section Southampton  
Seaplane Station and Storage, Dundee Dundee Sqn Ldr L Tomkinson DSO, AFC
Shotwick Mobile Disposal Sqn Shotwick (Sealand) Sqn L F Forbes MC
Care & Maintenance Party Beverley Flt Lt V H Baker MC AFC
Care & Maintenance Party East Retford Flt Lt E J D Routh
Care & Maintenance Party, Ely Flt Lt E Rivers-Smith MBE
Care & Maintenance Party Feltwell Flt Lt Alexander Gray MC, later AVM
Care & Maintenance Party Fowlmere Flt Lt A J Michell-Clarke MC
Care & Maintenance Party Frieston Flt Lt A R Arnold DSC, DFC
Care & Maintenance Party Lincoln Flt Lt F St J Woollard AFC
Care & Maintenance Party Norwich Flt Lt P D Robertson
Care & Maintenance Party Scampton Flt Lt B C H Cross DFC
Care & Maintenance Party Scopwick Flt Lt Edward A B Rice MC; later AVM
Care & Maintenance Party South Shields Plt Off A R Caldicott

Source - April 1920 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

[Top of Page]